Get out of my head

I am smack in the middle of my 10th week of training for my half marathon. Things are progressing well, except that I can’t get out of my own head. I am trying to focus on keeping up my endurance and progress with my running while keeping on top of my diet so my long runs aren’t brutal. Again, like in the early weeks of my training, I’m struggling and stressing out about my diet.

My biggest pitfall- my sweet tooth.

I will do fine through out the day, eating healthy, balanced meals. But at a certain point during my day I crave something sweet. And since this happens to be while I’m working I’ll either go to the vending machine or gas station to satisfy my sweet craving. Not a good thing when I’m trying to keep off the eight pounds ive managed to lose since June and want to lose more weight. I wanted to go on a 21-day no sugar kick to kick my sweet tooth, but I couldn’t even last one day. I thought I had more control than that, but obviously not. Now this obsession with diet is totally psyching me out when it comes to my daily training. I know I can accomplish my goal and finish this race, but I can’t get out of my own head long enough to stop stressing and worrying about it. I don’t feel like I’ve gotten any faster in the last couple of weeks and am just nervous about my long runs ahead of me ( 9 miles this weekend, 10 next weekend, then the big day, 13.1 on 10/10).

I guess I’m just worried I won’t be able to do this and will let myself down and prove to all the people who think I’m crazy for attempting this right that I can’t do this.

Just got to find some way to shake out the negative and fill my head again with positive thoughts.

Maybe I just need to get into depressed mode again, where I don’t eat a lot and have confidence and motivation to run.

Who knows, but I need to change and fast before I spoil this one myself.

One thought on “Get out of my head

  1. Anna,

    Keep it up!!! You’re almost there!!!! Just a few thoughts on the sweet tooth…. I find sometimes by just adding a little nestle quick to my milk satisfies my sweet tooth. I also keep a bag of hershey kisses at work, I have the will power to limit myself to one or two at a time. If you can limit yourself, it works for me!

    You’re fantastic Anna! I admire your journey and love to read your updates.

    Keep up the good work!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

