I’ve prepared as much as I can

Today I completed my last training run before the big day! I’ve prepared myself to the best of my ability, and now all I can do is let my body rest for two days to prepare for 13.1 miles.

My run this morning was quick but strong. I met Jill at 6am for a two-mile run. It had been more than a month since the last time I ran with her, but figured it was fitting as we ran two races together in July before we each decided to tackle the challenge of training for a half marathon. During my run this morning, I realized how much stronger (and faster as Jill pointed out) I am than when I started this journey in July. I felt comfortable and confident in my stride and tackled the brief inclines with confidence.

Confidence.

Something 12 weeks ago I lacked majorly when it came to my physical ability. Now, I know I can accomplish anything I want to with determination, drive and dedication. Without one the three D’s, I don’t think I would be where I am today. I have proven to myself I can accomplish something pretty monumental and know that I can do anything now with my triple-D success formula. I may have sacrificed fun time with others, but my real friends understand and will be there to celebrate with me when I complete my goal.

There are several people I’d like to thank for their support and guidance through these 12 weeks, but I’ll save that for the post-race blog.

The next time you will hear from me I will have completed 13.1 miles strong!

Okay, on your mark.

Get set.

Go!

Leave a Reply

