New Year, new goals

Well, 2010 is now in the history books and 2011 lies before me.

Looking back at 2010, I had a lot of (personal) hardships that challenged me emotionally, mentally and made me take a step back and evaluate what is important in my life. While I had to let a person go from my life permanently, I know it will be the best for me because I deserve the best. But it also made me realize that there are so many amazing people that I already have in my life that losing this one person isn’t the end of the world-though it felt like it at the time.

But the best thing to happen to me in 2010 was getting my running stride back and falling in love with running races. I never though I, a former fat girl, would be able to complete a 13.1 mile race.

But I did.

Nothing felt better than crossing that finish line knowing that my 12 weeks of hard work, dedication, early morning runs and sacrifices was all worth it.

That’s why I am back at it again in 2011.

Today was day one of my half marathon training part II. While it was only strength and stretch, it’s still the one day closer to completing another half marathon.

My goal for this training session will be to focus more on my food intake. I know I can make it through the training because I did it once before, but I want to get my eating habits in check. I know it will be challenging following the holidays and all the yummy, not-so-good for you foods around. I just want to be able to get my eating habits in check once and for all so I can finally shed the last 20-30 lbs off my body this year. I’m hoping if I can shed  10-15 pounds during this half training, it will help me lose more when I start training for my full marathon for the fall.

 

2011 goals:

-Cleveland 10-miler 4/23/11  (108 days and counting…)

-Rite-Aid Cleveland half Marathon 5/15/11

-Fort4Fitness half marathon (Fort Wayne, Ind.) 9/24/2011

Possible marathon destinations:

Outer Banks, November 12-13, 2011; Outer Banks, NC

Marine Corps, Washington, D.C., Oct. 30

Chicago Marathon: 10/2011

(I just want to run in a city that I can also make a mini vacation out of my marathon as well. )

-I want to run double the miles I ran in 2010.

Here is to a new year and more miles ahead!

 

Cheers!

 

Leave a Reply

