A fresh start

Monday, May 23, 2011, today I am hitting the refresh button on my life.

I am starting over. Starting over on my exercise  routine, refreshing my eating habits and renewing the pledge to myself to maintain a healthy lifestyle and my pledge to reach my weight loss goals.

I did not post about my half marathon experience from over a week ago. While it wasn’t a bad experience, actually the course and the spectators were amazing, I just didn’t get the satisfaction and feelings I had from my first half marathon. I think in part because I had completed the race distance before and there wasn’t any doubt in my mind that I couldn’t complete it. I set my goal time a little too high and wasn’t able to reach it, thus leaving me feeling defeated. Although, I did beat my time from my first half by almost 8 minutes, I still wasn’t as close to my goal time as I would have liked. But I know before I can get faster, I need to shed some unwanted LBS and concentrate on that.

Thus, my fresh start.

I weighed in this morning so I know where I am starting from and where I need to be before I officially start my marathon training on June 27.

My goal by June 27 is to be 10 pounds lighter. If I can shed more than that by then, fabulous! But I think 10 pounds in a little more than a month is attainable. I WANT this -10 lbs BAD! (As much as a this former fat girl would love to be able to consume Sour Patch Kids that are calorie free.)

How am I gonna achieve this? Make a plan and stick to it.

I’ve made a workout schedule to follow to help me keep on track. If I don’t have some type of firm plan when it comes to working out, I won’t consistently work out. I have kept my miles on the road light during the week, while keeping a long run on Sundays. But Monday, Wednesday, and Fridays I have incorporated a weight training circuit in addition to a 3-4 mile run, and Tuesday and Thursdays I’ve allowed for a bit of a longer run and scheduled some core workouts as well. I hate my belly and need to strengthen my core for the marathon, so I’ve go to punish it to whip it into shape.

Working out 6 days a week I’m used to from training for my previous races. Its keeping my food intake in check and healthy. But, I’ve got a plan of attack for that too.

Food journal. Yup, as corny and anal retentive as it may sound, I’m going to hold myself accountable for every little morsel I put into my mouth. I’ve read many times that by tracking what you eat daily puts in perspective exactly what you are eating and how much. My probably is snacking/grazing between meals. I need to train my brain to eat when I am physically hungry, not when I’m bored, sad, mad, happy or just because my brain tells me I need to eat. My stomach needs to tell me when to eat, not my brain/emotions. This will be my challenge over the next month since I’ve been an emotional eater my whole life. But I AM determined to turn this habit on its head and take back control and get the results I WANT.

Time to

Leave a Reply

