Project Refresh Week 1

So this past week was the first week of my fresh start.

It was definitely a challenge, but I think I did a really good job. I made MUCH better food choices and writing down what I put into my mouth definitely helped me be accountable for my choices. There were some not so perfect moments, aka Friday afternoon, but I chalk it up to my job and not being able to feel full and content.

 But something I AM  very proud of myself for doing is working out EVERY day this week. I made it to the gym three days this week and run 5 days. Working out every day is something I haven’t done since my senior year of college. I think that time I’ve taken for myself has allowed me some sanity when I struggled quite a bit this week mentally with other aspects of life.  I am definitely thankful I have running and working out as my outlet to escape from the real world and focus on myself.

Yesterday (Saturday) I ran my first race since the half in Cleveland. It was a 5-mile race I decided to sign up for on Wednesday. I had no goal for this race, just to finish and get the miles back under my feet. Saturday morning when my alarm went off at 7 am, I had no motivation to race and wanted to just sleep. I’ve never had that feeling the day of a race. But, I went to the race and ran it anyway. Two minutes before the race started, I went to sync my Nike+ on my iPod and realized that i left my receiver that I plug into my iPod at home. So, no big deal, I’d just run to music and not worry about pace times, etc. The race was d-chip timed anyway so I’d get my official time and pace that way. Just bummed because I wouldn’t be able to log the miles on Nike.com. But the race went well and I set a new PR for a 5-mile race.

50:06 (10:01/mile).

Not too shabby for not having any goals set for the race.

Now, tomorrow is the real test. I will step on the scale for the first time in 7 days and see if Project Refresh has helped. I am actually scared that when I will step on the scale and the number will be the same, or worse, higher. I’ve never been so terrified in my life to weigh in.  If one week of change and hard work doesn’t pay off, what will it take for me to shed weight?

Well, no sense of freaking out and worrying now. I’ll worry about that tomorrow once the three-digit number stares back at my face.

Here’s to a weight loss tomorrow.

Fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

