125 days until I can have a normal life

Why hello there bloggy-blog! Remember me? Yeah, the girl who promised she’d be a better blogger and update more than once in a blue moon?

Well, guess what? I’m back. Back again. Anna’s back. Tell a friend.

Today marks day 1 of my official journey to 26.2.

I have had a mixture of emotions leading up to today. Excitement, motivation, nervousness, and anxiety. I am excited to embark on this journey of high intense training again. Last summer’s journey to training for 13.1 taught me a lot about myself. I learned that I am a lot stronger mentally and emotionally then I tend to give myself credit for. I proved that no matter what life threw in front of me, I was able to channel in to my running and not let it get in my way. But mainly, it taught me that if I put up a physical challenge for myself, I can come through and complete it. The last one is the most significant because never in my life (before last summer) did I ever think I would enjoy distance running, let alone want to tackle 13.1 miles.

Now, the girl who said to herself on her first half marathon course would never run a marathon is one day closer to running a full marathon, 26.2 miles, one year later.

I’m excited for this 18-weeks of torture, I mean training, because it will give my workouts purpose again. I will be working toward an ultimate goal and know that only I can get myself across the finish line. I’m also looking forward to logging many miles with a group of friends I’ve gained in the past year as I’ve acquired this new hobby. Team 4 Life- you guys rock!

I’m nervous and have slight anxiety about the whole training process for several reasons. First, I feel since the half in Cleveland, my running hasn’t been as strong. I feel slower and like I can’t run straight through on distances I use to be able to pound out like a seasoned runner. That makes me anxious about not being able to get through weekly long runs, but even struggling during my runs during the week. I know I will hit my stride again once I get back into the groove of training. I just need to listen to my body as far as fueling and resting if I’m tired or feeling pain.

But, I know when I hit the speed bumps during my training, I need to remember I am not only running this for myself. I am running this for my aunt, and all the other people across the country to live with MS. So when I’m feeling down, I need to remember that I can overcome whatever I am going through and continue to train and run for those who can’t.

I know this journey will not be easy. I know there will be many days I will doubt my ability. When I hit those low points, I need to pick my head up, look forward and keep my eye on the finish line.

26.2 miles, a medal draped around my neck by a Marine and the title of marathoner.

Year of 26.2.

I’m up for the challenge!

Oooh-Rah!

One thought on “125 days until I can have a normal life

Leave a Reply

