45 days to go and there isn’t much gas left in this tank

I have been training for my first marathon for 11 weeks now. And for about the last two and a half weeks, I have been really slacking on my daily runs, finding it hard to muster up enough motivation to get my butt out the door and pounding the pavement. My (motivation) gas tank is running on empty, and lately, I feel like my physical gas tank is too.
I know I am in the critical part of my training where every mile counts as the days inch closer to my 26.2 mile journey. I should be logging between 40-50 miles a week, when realistically I’m probably only logging in the low-30s.

Not acceptable.

I am not a morning person what so ever. It is hard to get out of bed at 6am to get ready to go run while the boy is still snoozing away for another hour and a half. It’s even harder when some days I don’t have to be at work until 2pm to get up that early when I probably didn’t get to bed the night before until midnight. But, I want to finish 26.2 miles on Oct. 30 without being whisked away by medical after crossing the finish line, so I HAVE to get my rear out of bed in the mornings to get my miles in. I have enlisted the help of the boy to be annoying as possible when my alarm goes off to help get me going in the mornings. He has tried so far, but I told him he was just too nice about it.

Saturday will be my first of two 20 mile long runs. This week I have only logged 4 miles. No bueno. Tomorrow I plan on running 8 miles and 5 on Friday. Since I will be out of town Sunday for the Browns game, I can’t do a recovery run, so Monday will be a must run to recover/pump up for the week ahead.
To say I am scared of running 20 miles is an understatement. I have been dreading this run since the beginning. Luckily, my training partner/ friend Jenine will be running with me through those 20 miles. She has run several marathons so she is no stranger to this distance. It will be nice to have someone to run with during a long run again.

Okay, so to help refill my tank I am enlisting the help of all you who have taken an interest in this craziness to hold me accountable/ support me in these last 7 weeks. If that means I need to blog more to keep you updated, I will. Anyway you have to communicate with me, utilize it to keep the positivity and support coming.
I can’t run on fumes alone.

I will finish what I started!

2 thoughts on “45 days to go and there isn’t much gas left in this tank

  1. I give you kudos for getting this far! I am training for my 2nd half marathon and I find it difficult to fit in all my runs. I can’t imaging logging 50 miles. Keep up the good work and it will all be worth it in the end! Good luck and keep us posted.

  2. I am the worst at getting out of bed in the mornings. I feel so much better working out in the mornings but I feel like I really need my sleep. A couple tips I picked up to workout in the morning is to sleep in your running clothes (sexy, i know). or at least parts of them, like shorts and sports bra (there we go, that’s sexy). Also, I put my ipod next to my alarm and when the alarm goes off I immediately turn on my headphones and put them in. nothing like blarring music to get you moving. Sometimes just telling someone that you are going to workout in the morning (or just tell the twitterverse), will be enough to get you going. Say it, Do it!

Leave a Reply

