DC Day one in the books

Phew! What a day! It feels so nice to be horizontal and off my feet!

My day started bright and early at 4:30am (well technically not bright since it was still dark at this time). Our flight was leaving at 6:30am from Akron/Canton on a straight shot to DC. We arrived a little before 8am and were on our way to find the metro and take it to Springfield.

After checking into our swanky Hilton Hotel room, grubbing on a slammin’ breakfast buffet at the hotel (complementary thanks to Jenine’s Hilton Honors points), and relaxing for  a bit. After we formulated a game plan, we headed back to the metro station and cruised into downtown DC to take everything in. We decided to purchase a tour package with included a trolley tour of DC and included tickets to the Newseum.

After we arrived in downtown via the blue line and got off at Metro Center, we pulled out our map and compared it to one on an information kiosk like total tourist. Once we figured out which direction we needed to head in, we were soon smack dab in the middle of crowds of school groups, families and locals milling the busy streets of downtown.

Our first stop was Ford’s Theater. I wasn’t too keen on going in but went in with the boy because he really wanted to see it. It was actually a really neat theater that still serves as home to theater shows. It was interesting to see the presidential box where Wilkes Booth shot President Lincoln. The theater itself was really pretty and had a cool stage.

After we left Ford’s Theater, we hoped aboard the Trolley and then hopped off at the second stop near the National Archives where we got to see the Declaration of Independence, The Constitution and the Bill of Rights. It was a really neat experience.

The rest of our day goes as follows:

Newseum (aka a journalist’s heaven! A great display of  the evolution of the media and some cool exhibits.

tile on the wall in the women's bathroo

Pulitzer Prize winning photographs

 

After the Newseum, we ventured back towards the trolley so we could see the White House.

On our way back towards the Metro station we passed another Occupy DC protest so I decided to document it.

One of two Occupy DC protests we saw. This one is in McPherson Square

So much crammed into one day!

Tomorrow’s agenda:

Expo to pickup race packet and pick up essentials for race day (Gu, BodyGlide) and a couple of souvenir items.

Georgetown to sight see and get some yummy cupcakes!

National Cathedral

Brief tour of National Mall

National Masonic Memorial

Then R&R!

 

Honestly, I was so excited to be a tourist today and soak in all this city has to offer that it really hasn’t hit me yet that I will be running a marathon Sunday. I know it will all sink in tomorrow when I go to pick up my race packet. Although, the boy doesn’t think it will sink in for me until Sunday morning when we wake up super early. Either way, I’m gonna FREAKIN’ RUN A MARATHON! And in one of the best cities and the best marathon in the country!

I want to thank everyone who has already sent me well wishes and for the overwhelming support from my friends and family back at home. You have NO IDEA what it means to me! I feel completely blessed to have some great people in my life.

 

DC, I’m here and ready to dominate 26.2 through your goregous, awesome city! The question is, are you ready for me?!

 

OORAH!

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “DC Day one in the books

  1. Ford theater, I didn’t even think to go there. I was so set on going to the spy museum.
    Can’t wait to hear your recap. Please tell me all about the cute guys giving medals at the fnish!

Leave a Reply

