Day 1

Today was the first day of the year of 27. Which I have deemed, the year of commitment and transformation.

Today was the first of my new year. I woke up with a purpose and a plan.
A plan to start a new work out program and a new bootcamp. A plan to forget all the negativity and thoughts from the past three weeks.

I have really struggled in these first few weeks of 2012. I’ve struggled to start again with a workout regime and get back on the healthy eating track. I’ve struggled a lot internally with my emotions regarding things in my personal and professional life. I’ve wasted a lot of tears over these last three weeks on the same old same old, and some new feelings and emotions I’ve never felt before. There was a point in the past few days where I have felt like I hit rock bottom and didn’t know what to do next. But as I wiped away my tears and steadied my breath, I knew that I needed to not focus and dwell on the negative and the things I can’t change right now, and get back to what I know makes me happy and puts me in a good place.

I decided that I needed to refocus all the negativity into my fitness again, especially running. I don’t know if I’m necessarily scared to start running and training for a race again, but I need to get back at it. I’ve got a half marathon PR to set and Ragnar to complete with some pretty kick ass runners. I want to put as my time and dedication into this training as I did for my very first half marathon. Which is kind of a hard mindset to put myself in since this will be my third. But I know I am basically starting over, so I need to take everything in stride and celebrate my small achievements.

So day 1 was pretty amazing. After my dr appointment this morning, I headed to the gym to get in my day 1 workout in the 12-week challenge. Today’s workout focused on chest and shoulders. Wide pushups, dumbbell bench press, flat bench dumbbell flys, narrow pushups, standing dumbbell tricep extensions, and tricep push downs. You do 12 reps of each three times with 1 minute rest in between. By the time I reached the narrow pushups, I thought my shoulders were gonna fall off. I know my upper body is my weak point, but man, I didn’t know if I was going to be able to finish the rest. I conquered through it and my shoulders felt like Jell-o. My goal by the end of the 12 weeks is to be able to do 12 regular pushups on my toes and not on my knees.

The rest of the afternoon was spent spending gift cards from Christmas, getting a shellac mani and throwing together an impromptu crockpot dinner before I headed off to my first bootcamp at a new place.

I purchased a deal from Living Social for a month of unlimited bootcamp sessions at Strong Fitness in Avon Lake. I really like bootcamp workouts because you burn tons of calories and work a variety of muscle groups. I was excited and pumped for to be able to go to two of the three classes offered a week.

The class was small, 10 of us. We warmed up with cardio for 6 minutes changing every minute or so between high knees, jumping jacks, mountain climbers, and squats. By the end of those 6 minutes I had sweat rolling off my face and tore off the long sleeved shirt I had on.

Next we partnered up and rotated through 5 different stations that had two elements to them, switching on the 30 second or so mark. Think Biggest Loser in a circuit 5 times through. By the end of the third circuit, my right side was aching and my head was pounding. My favorite circuit was the ropes. We picked up two thick ropes that you would climb up and gym class and waved them up and down while the other person held on to the other end and acted like a shock absorber. Remember my chest, shoulder workout from the morning, yeah, my shoulders hated me!  My least favorite was probably the bullfrog/burpee circuit. Half the time we jumped up back and forth like a frog and the other half we did burpees, or what I like to call HELL! This was the hardest circuit to keep your momentum and speed up in and I tired quickly. Luckily side planks followed hell and it was ALMOST like a breather, until my body started shaking holing myself up.

Hardest workout I’ve ever had, but I can’t wait to go back for more!

I just hope I can function well enough to get through Day 2 of my workout tomorrow and a 2-mile run! 🙂

Day 1= success! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Day 1

  1. Great first day, Anna! Bootcamps are my favorite!
    It’s always so hard for me, too, to remember how good I feel when I’m on track with both my diet and exercise. Not sure why I let myself get off track when I know I’m going to feel like crap. But it happens to the best of us I guess. And at least we hop back on that horse eventually!! 🙂

  2. Love how commited you are to working out. I love seeing all your tweets about it. Bootcamps are the best. I almost signed up for that one but wasn’t sure when I would be able to make it. We should get together for a run sometime soon!

    • Going for a run sometime soon would be fun! Maybe a Sunday? My “long runs” and your recovery run from your long run. As long as you don’t mind my slower pace and low mileage. 🙂 Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

