Yes, I am still here.

I know its been a VERY long time since I’ve posted. This bloggy has been put on the back burner this summer/fall due to living life.

So let me catch you up real fast!

June: I changed career paths. I left the newspaper world and joined a photography studio that is part of Lifetouch as a photographer. I still take photos, but in a much more relaxed and enjoyable environment. I get to photograph awesome high school seniors, high schoolers and a variety of other people. I work with some pretty cool and talented photographers. 🙂

July: Aaron and I ventured to Punta Cana to celebrate his brother’s wedding and have a vacation at the same time. It was my first time traveling out of the country and definitely was enjoyable! You can see more about my trip here.

August/September: These two months are such a blur of team sports days and school photo days I don’t think anything monumental occurred.

October: If you haven’t noticed, in the previous months not too much has been mentioned in the way of health and fitness. While getting adjusted and learning a lot in my new job, I tried my best to sneak work outs in when I could. After a disappointing CLE half and only running two 5ks over the summer (both must-do races of the summer for me), I needed to take a hiatus from running because I was simply burned out. But this hiatus kind of turned into a way for me to make an excuse not to work out regularly. Knowing that I needed to get whipped back into shape if I wanted to be able to survive half marathon training for spring, I decided to try something completely different.

Enter in INSANITY.

After hearing my friend Allie rave and go on and on about how awesome this program is, I knew I needed to give this a try. She graciously let me borrow her copy of the 60 day workout program. I knew that if I wanted to transform my body and get into better shape, I had to fully commit to doing this workout 6 days a week (Sundays are the “off” day.).

So thats what I did. After a week or two of being intimidated of starting the workout program, I put in the first DVD and took the fit test. Image

Source

The fit test measures your cardio and core strength. You have one minute to perform as many reps of each move as you can. You take the fit test every three weeks to see your progress. After taking the fit test the first day I knew the work outs where definitely gonna challenge me, but make me stronger, improve my cardio endurance.

November: I signed up for a 4 mile race a few days before hand because it was an all women’s race and I knew Allie would be running it as well. I had run a 5k the weekend before but hadn’t run since. I was a little nervous since I hadn’t run 4 miles since May, but knew I could manage the distance. The day of the race the course changed from 4 miles to a 5k due to flooding on the part of the course from Superstorm Sandy. Phew! Saved me a bit there. It was an out and back race (ugh!). I felt the first mile out was really slow, but when I looked down at my watch it was just over 10 minutes (holy hell! TOO fast!). Of course the last two miles were slower, but I was able to finish two minutes faster than my 5k the previous weekend. The small push I was able to give at the end was awesome! It was this little burst of energy that came out of nowhere! I was able to visualize powering down the stretch, lifting my knees high and using my core. Which is exactly what you do during the warm up for Insanity. I could definitely feel the affects of Insanity in my running during the race.

Image

Allison and me before Women Who Run

Skip to three weeks later and the Cleveland Turkey Trot 5 mile race. The week leading up to the race I maybe ran a total of three miles. Um, yeah, definitely NOT the ideal way of preparing for a distance I haven’t touched since May. But, I had progressed through one month of Insanity, so I knew I could run this race. My goal was just to finish.

The morning of the race I was still feeling the fun of the festivities I partook in the night before. I told myself if I could finish this race in under an hour it would be a success!

Running with 6,000 people in a very hungover state was very trippy in the beginning. But I kept my head up and focus forward. I knew not to let the crowd pull me out too fast and just settle in at a pace I could keep up with. Which I found and ran the first 3 miles straight! Such an accomplishment! I was almost all the way up the hill around Browns Stadium when I had to stop and tie my shoe. Got back into my stride until that DREADED uphill known as E. 9th St (its much more enjoyable when its the downhill finish of the CLE half than the halfway point of a race :-(). I ran as much as I could up and then just power walked the rest of the way up. After getting cut off by a woman who was dragging her dog behind and bumped me (I don’t mind if you run with your dogs in a dog-friendly race, but run in the middle, not along the sides to cut people off), I turned the corner down a long straight away and found my stride again.

I can proudly say I crushed my goal and finished 5 miles in 55 minutes. While its nowhere near what I’ve run 5 miles in before (49 min), it was quite a feat completing that distance without running that far in many months. Never once during the actual race did I feel winded until I made the final push towards the finish line. My legs, on the other hand, by mile 4, were toast and definitely not used to the miles. But that will come back once they get used to consistent miles again.

That race was a great testament to the progress I’ve made in the Insanity program. My aerobic base has gotten stronger. I am so glad I decided to do this program and can’t wait to finish it and get started with 2013 spring half marathon training! I definitely want to continue using these workouts to supplement my training to keep my aerobic base up.

So I bet many of you are wondering what spring half marathon I will be running? I am excited to announce that I am taking my talents to the Indy Mini Marathon! I’m pumped to finally running a race in my home state and running a great race! I’m even more excited that my friend Celina decided to train for her first ever half marathon! I can’t wait to help her in a journey that I know will be life changing for her and provide her with tips and information I’ve learned in my journey of running and training for races.

So, there in the briefest recap possible is what I have been up to.

Oh, wait! I totally forgot something awesome and important!

At the end of October I became a certified SPINNING instructor! After almost two years of loving the mind-body experience I get from a class, I decided that it would be fun to motivate others and teach! (Plus, its a fun way to make some extra $$). I taught my first class a few weeks ago. There were only two of us, but we completed an awesome ride! I will start teaching on a weekly basis starting in December! I can’t wait! Another great way to keep motivated and on track!

One more thing! I won a free race entry to the Santa Hustle at Cedar Point from Heather! When she posted on her blog that she was giving away a race entry, I was determined to win it! My persistent tweeting over a week paid off, and I will participate in Cedar Point’s inaugural Santa Hustle 5k and Half Marathon on Dec. 16! This race is awesome because participants receive a long-sleeved santa shirt, hat and beard to wear during the race! Plus the post-race party is gonna be great with holiday food and music! I definitely plan on running in my IU Santa hat and the shirt provided. I think I’m gonna forego wearing the beard because it might get too warm while running. Jess is running the half marathon as her comeback from injury race! I can’t wait to cheer her on as she crosses the finish line. Its gonna be a fun race for sure!

And I promise I will take photos and blog a post-race report!

If you are interested in my Insanity journey and want to follow me in the final month, check out my Instagram for my daily posts about my workouts. I decided to keep my Insanity Challenge limited to those who follow me on Twitter/Instagram because I was afraid I would quit/fail. Plus, I figured everyone in the Facebook world would get fed up with my daily posts popping up in their news feed. 

6 thoughts on “Yes, I am still here.

  1. Way to go kid! As usual, you are an inspiration to me. Keep up the good work. Hopefully I can get back into everything again soon myself.

  2. So great to hear what you have been up to! So I have a few questions for you!
    1. Do you live in Ohio? I’m wondering how close we leave to each other.
    2. Where do you teach spin class? I want to come if it’s close.
    3. Do you keep track of your workouts on dailymile?
    4. Not a question but I too am doing the Santa Hustle 1/2 in Sandusky as well as the Indy Mini Marathon 1/2!

    • Jodi: I do live in Ohio. I live about 30 miles west of Cleveland. I will be teaching SPINNING at Splash Zone in Oberlin. I currently do not know the December schedule, so I’m not sure of the day/time of my class.
      I am on the daily mile, but haven’t been tracking my Insanity workouts there. I mainly use it to track my running miles.

      Enjoy the Santa Hustle and Indy Mini! I’m excited for both races.

Leave a Reply

