Glass City half marathon training weeks 1 and 2

The first two weeks of training went pretty well. I got all my runs in and got reacquainted with running multiple times a week. And since Mother Nature has been one heck of a mother … I’ve had to train my brain it get used to running on the treadmill. But by the second week, I was actually looking forward to running and enjoying my time on the mill (even though I was staring out the window dreaming of running outside in 50 degree temps)

20140217-110259.jpg

Here is how my first two weeks of training went:

Week 1

Monday: Barre/Pilates class
Tuesday: 3 miles on TM
Wednesday: Taught spin class
Thursday: 3 miles on TM
Friday: Spin
Saturday: Crossfit
Sunday: 2.5 miles (long run got cut short bc time at the gym got cut short by the snow)

Total miles: 8.5

Week 2
Monday: rest day ( wasn’t planned but since I didn’t take one the previous week my body was screaming for one, plus I picked up a basketball game to cover for the paper)
Tuesday: 3 miles on TM
Wednesday: tap class + strength
Thursday: 3 miles on TM
Friday: (taught) Spin 45 min
Saturday: 4 mile long run (TM)
Sunday: 55 spin class at Psycle with Jess.

My rest day during the week is going to vary week to week depending on when I teach spin and choose to do my long run. I was bummed I didn’t do cross fit this last week but I didn’t crawl out of bed early enough to get miles in before the class. So this week I may end up doing my long run Friday afternoon so I can do cross fit on Saturday.

I’m feeling really good about being active every day during the week. I’m hoping the amount of cross training I’m doing will not only help improve my running but also keep me from getting injured.

What other activities do you include in your training?

One thought on “Glass City half marathon training weeks 1 and 2

Leave a Reply

