Medical Mutual Glass City half marathon training weeks 3 and 4

So apparently I’m good at remembering every other week to recap my training. I promise I’ll have a better detailed weekly training recap next week *pinky promise*

Week 3:
Monday: 40 min swim and 50 min barre/Pilates class
Tuesday: 3.5 mile run on the indoor track
Wednesday: 50 min spin class
Thursday: 3.5 mile run on the indoor track
Friday: long run– 5 miles on the indoor track
Saturday: 1 hour cross fit
Sunday: 1 hour spin

Week 4:
Monday: unplanned rest day. I picked up a sports assignment to cover basketball.
Tuesday: 3.5 mile run on the indoor track; 30 min swim
Wednesday: tap class
Thursday: 3.5 mile run on the indoor track; 45 min boot camp
Friday: 50 min spin
Saturday: 5 mile long run; 1 hour cross fit
Sunday: rest

The three double workouts last week were tough, but I’m starting to see improvement in my running because of the cross training and double workouts. It’s definitely helping with my endurance. I thought I would just lay down and sleep the rest of Saturday after two hard back to back workouts but they helped keep me going through a crazy, busy day.

This week I’m planning for more time in the pool. I decided to swim yesterday since I wasn’t going to the barre/Pilates class. My legs were still sore from the weekend but the warm water felt nice to slip into with it being so cold outside and was nice on the legs. I am by no means a good swimmer (I mainly do kick work with the kick board and swim breast stroke since I suck at freestyle) but I know the more I work at it and do it, the better I’ll get and the easier it will be.

One thought on “Medical Mutual Glass City half marathon training weeks 3 and 4

  1. Hopefully this weather finally breaks so you can get out to run. I know I always do better outside than on the inside track. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

